Ebay Photo Sharing

This was posted on the rebelscum forums and I thought more should know about this. On August 31st, ebay are making all photos uploaded to their site public for any other user to use them in their own auctions. After this happens any user on ebay can use your photo to sell a similar item. You could be bidding on an item in far worse condition, but have no clue because the seller used a photo of the same item in nicer condition from another seller. Luckily, they do provide an opt out option for now. Here are the steps which I immediately did after finding out about this. These instructions are taken from this website.

In order to opt out of this so-not-okay process, do the following. I’ve broken it down exhaustively. Hopefully your eBay pages look like mine.

1) Go to your eBay summary page (“My eBay”).

2) On the left-hand side, there are three tabs that say “Activity,” “Messages,” and “Account.” Hover over the “Account” tab.

3) A drop-down list will appear. Move your mouse down to “Site Preferences” and click.

4) You will be taken to a page with a list of site options for selling, shipping, and listing. About the sixth from the top is “Share your Photos.” Click on the word “show” on the right hand side next to this option.

5) The box will expand, and if you are opted in, “yes” will appear. If you are opted out, “no” will appear. A small “edit” link will appear below the “show” link. If you want to change the settings, click “edit.”

6) You will be taken to a new page with the following text: If you’d like to opt-out of this program, please do so by checking this box and clicking the “submit” button below.
(If you opt-out before August 31, 2009, none of your photos will be considered for inclusion in this program unless you opt back in at a later time. If you opt-out after August 31, 2009, any photos we select for inclusion in this program prior to your opt-out may continue to be used in the catalog)

7) If you want to opt out of the program, check the ticky box on the left-hand side next to the text, then go down and click the “submit” button.

8) You will go back to the settings screen you were just on, and there will be a green checkmark and a confirmation message. Go down to the “Share your Photos” option again and click “show.” Your setting should now appear as “no.”

After hearing about this I decided to go ahead and activate the watermark plugin for gallery on my star wars site. I’ve had pictures stolen before, but the sellers that did it worked with me and removed the photos. I feel now with this move ebay is almost encouraging their sellers to go ahead and use someone else’s photos. Here is an example of how my images look now with the watermark. The nice thing is it doesn’t actually alter the original images, so I can remove it at anytime if I want to.

Leave a Reply